Residency Licensure Programs at Appalachian

The Residency Licensure programs are designed to provide candidates fast-track options to meet residency licensure requirements for teaching.

Appalachian State offers approved educator preparation programs (EPP) in accordance with this licensure pathway.

This 100 percent online study program is designed to get you a teaching license in an area where you can succeed and educate. To enroll, you must have been offered employment by an LEA (Local Education Agency) in North Carolina.

App State Online: Change your future.

More information on Residency Licensure Programs

Certificate details

Each of these certificates are available as graduate certificates outside of the Residency Licensure program

Program information

  • Completion time: 12-18 months
  • Two classes per semester, including summer
  • Applicants should reach out to the program contact for their licensure area to discuss eligibility before applying to the program

ELIGIBILITY and application requirements

Applicants must:

  • have earned a bachelor's degree
  • have earned a 2.7 cumulative GPA on their degree
  • have either completed 24 semester hours of coursework in the requested licensure area or passed the content area examination(s) required by the N.C. State Board of Education for the requested licensure area
  • have been hired as a teacher by an LEA (Local Education Agency) as part of the Residency Licensure Requirements

Upon acceptance to a Residency Licensure Program and becoming employed as a teacher in an LEA, candidates will complete the Residency License Verification/Certification of Supervision (Form RL) and submit it to LEA

Application requirements:

  • Completed online application to graduate school for the certificate that fulfills the desired licensure area
  • Application fee
  • Official (sealed) transcript from each college or university attended (other than Appalachian)

Note: Test scores are not required for this program.

Licensure Areas/Certificates

Career and Technical Education & Middle Grades Education

24 credit hours

Appalachian’s Middle Grades and Secondary Education Graduate Certificate has courses for CTE and Middle Grades Education that are part of Residency Licensure offerings.

Before beginning this program, please provide transcripts to the program contact to determine if any other hours will count toward the 24 prerequisite hours.

Tracks within MGE & CTE are:

  • Middle Grades: Teach English/Language Arts, Science, Math or Social Studies in grades 6-9.
  • Career & Technical: Teach Business, Marketing, Agriculture Education, Technology, Family & Consumer Sciences, Health Sciences* or Trade & Industry** at the middle and high school level.
  • Health Sciences: Must have a current license, certification or registration by a national and/or state-recognized program-accrediting agency as a health professions practitioner.
  • Trade & Industry: Must provide evidence of having taken a minimum of 24 qualifying content semester hours in the discipline/specialty area.

Special Education (General Curriculum)

24 credit hours

The Special Education track of the Residency Model License is a fast-track, North Carolina-specific pathway to get educators their teaching license in North Carolina.

Before beginning this program, please provide transcripts to the program contact to determine if any other hours will count toward the 24 prerequisite hours.

Birth through Kindergarten

19 credit hours

The Birth through Kindergarten track of the Residency Model License is a fast-track, North Carolina-specific pathway to get educators their teaching license in North Carolina.

Before beginning this program, please provide transcripts to the department to determine if any other hours will count toward the 24 prerequisite hours.

Courses with the following focus will count toward the 24 prerequisite hours:

  • Development birth-five
  • Early intervention
  • Early childhood curriculum
  • Early childhood assessment
  • Early childhood teaming
  • Reggio
  • Family studies

The program offers a development course in the second semester if you do not have development (birth-five years) before entering the program.

Before beginning this program, please provide transcripts to the department to determine if any other hours will count toward the 24 prerequisite hours.

Request More Information

Loading...