The online CTE undergraduate degree at Appalachian
App State Online offers the only degree program in the state of North Carolina licensing Career and Technical Education (CTE) teachers. Graduates of the CTE undergraduate degree program will be in extremely high demand, both here in North Carolina and across the nation.
CTE is essential because all learners need to be prepared for today’s job market. Backed by Appalachian’s renowned Reich College of Education, this program provides teachers with the knowledge to help their students close the skills gap.
This is your opportunity to seize your passion and turn it into a CTE undergraduate degree. CTE teachers get to teach highly relevant subjects to students at both the middle and high school levels, showing today’s youth how to use the latest technologies and compete in business and industry. In addition, graduates of the CTE undergraduate degree program may choose to enter the industry as trainers, community colleges and career centers as instructors, and cooperative extension agencies.
App State Online: Keep your life… Change your future.
- Career center instructor
- Middle school teacher
- High school teacher
- Educator in business or industry
- Business, Finance and Information Technology Education: Teach courses like Business Law, Computer Applications, Sports Marketing and Computer Networking. Click for course information
- Business, Marketing and Entrepreneurship Education: Teach courses like Entrepreneurship, Hospitality & Tourism, Fashion Merchandising and Sports & Entertainment Marketing. Click for course information
- Technology, Engineering and Design Education: Teach courses like Game Art, Design, Robotics, Principles of Engineering and Technological Systems. Click for course information
- Trade and Industry Education: Teach courses like Digital Media, Drafting, Automotive, Carpentry or Welding at the Secondary or Post-secondary level. Click for course information
- Family & Consumer Sciences Education: Teach courses like Apparel & Textiles, Interior Design, Parenting, Foods & Nutrition, Early Childhood Education and Principles of Family and Human Services. Click for course information
Note: Not all courses listed may be delivered to App State Online students. Refer curriculum questions to the program contact.
- 13-15 hours per semester, on average, year-round
- Completion time: Four semesters of classes plus one semester of student teaching
The following are criteria required for entry. After admission, you may need additional transfer hours. The hours delivered by Appalachian and your transfer hours must equal 120 hours by the end of the program.
- Transfer Admission to the university
- Minimum of 30 transfer credit hours
Visit our transfer equivalency course search to see how your previous coursework transfers to Appalachian. For your convenience, our Pre-Application Evaluation form (watch our video to learn more) can help you determine if you meet the minimum program entry requirements.
During the program, students must meet the following requirements:
- Pass criminal background check at start of Semester 1
- Admission to Teacher Education by Semester 2
- Praxis CORE test or equivalent requirements before Semester 2
- All Appalachian State University Education programs that lead to licensure or a similar credential require multiple site-based field experiences throughout the program as well as on-campus and regional meetings prior to and during the Clinical Internship. Learn more.
- Praxis II by the end of Semester 5
- Before finishing this program, you must also have met Appalachian’s General Education requirements.
Note: Up until Clinical Internship, the coursework in this program is delivered completely online. However, some courses require hours in a public school setting.
This is a program that leads to licensure or certification. Appalachian State University cannot confirm whether this program will meet the requirements for professional licensure in other states or territories.
If this applies to you, check the U.S. Department of Education for information on licensure requirements and licensing agencies in other states. Or, you may address questions to State Authorization at Appalachian at firstname.lastname@example.org or 828-262-7559.